A Personal Note

Hello Fellow Readers,

It isn’t often that I write my own personal note on this blog. Mostly, I interview writers and write reviews of books for kids, teens and tweens. But since I have very loyal readers, I wanted to write to you about something that has been brought to my attention by a few relatives.

I am an only child and loved my childhood. I remember having my mother and father reading picture books to me and taking me to the library. It was truly a wonderful time of my life. But when I married my husband, he had a niece and over the years she has also considered me to be her aunt. She referred to me as Aunt Irene on many occasions during her early adolescent years when she came to visit us and we took her on long walks around the Avon River in Stratford. So, I do have one niece as an extension of my marriage.

But more than that, I know some kids in church and through my readings at libraries who have over the years wanted me to take on the role of surrogate aunt. So, these are usually the nephews and nieces that I refer to at the end of my reviews. They are as close to me as anyone, and my life has been truly enriched because of my knowing them and spending time with them.  But from now on, I will refer to them as surrogates so that I don’t confuse too many people.

In addition, this is one of the real reasons that I write for kids, teens and tweens. These surrogate nieces and nephews look forward to my books, and to the books that I recommend after I have read them when we see each other.

I needed to clarify this since I have some really noisy relatives…LOL.

Take care, and I’ll write soon!
A bientot!
Irene

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

