Meet J.D. Holiday

Joining us today is JD Holiday, author of The Spy Game. This is a children’s book geared toward ages two to seven.

JD Holiday web

Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I’m the author and illustrator of three children’s books: Picture books are; Janoose the GooseThe Spy Game,  & a chapter book for six to eight year olds, The Great Snowball Escapade.

I’ve had a few of my short stories published in a chapbook in 1994 and has had short stories printed in literary magazines and a few articles about writing and publishing published. I host on radio show for kids on The World of Ink Network at Blog Talk Radio, It’s Story Time which is a children’s reading show.

When did you first get published?

 One of my short stories was first published in a small literary magazine called, My Legacy in August, 1992.

Do you feel you were bit by the writing bug?

Yes, I was. Though I didn’t know it as I was growing up watching my father type away at his typewriter nights and weekends on his own writing. In the 1980’s, a friend asked me to help her write a book. After that, I couldn’t stop.

Why did you decide to write for children?

I have so many stories to tell mostly about things that happened in my childhood. It seems the most logical thing to write was children’s stories.

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience versus a teen or adult reader?

I don’t know why it is, but I feel I can write for any age. I seem to be able to find a voice no matter what age I writing for.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

Creating believable characters and putting them in situations young people can relate to.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

In The Spy Game, a boy, Eddie would love to have a puppy to play with.  A puppy would pull on a rope. Catch a ball and lick your face. But his Uncle brings Eddie an older dog named about a famous spy.
What can you do with an old dog? It probably couldn’t learn new tricks, and the only thing this dog did was stare.  It’s what they find to do together that makes them the best of friends!

What inspired you to write it?

My brother, Ike’s dog, Sheeba had puppies. He asked me to take this one puppy he named, Sidney Reilly after a spy series he and I watched together.  At the time I had a dog and didn’t think my older dog, Snoopy would be happy with a new addition.
My brother felt sure this dog was for me and he kept it with that in mind. When the puppy was 11 months old, my brother, Ike died of a heart attack. AND Sidney came to me.

I was wrong to think that my dog, Snoopy and Sidney would not get along. They did in their own way.

Though this did not happen in real live, in The Spy Game I have my brother bring Sidney to my character’s house to live.  

Where can readers purchase a copy?

THE SPY GAME and as well as my other books can be bought on Amazon and Barnes & Noble on line and ordered in bookstores.

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more?

Yes, my website is: http://www.thebookgarden.nethttp://www.thebookgarden.net  and my blog is: http://jdswritersblog.blogspot.com

My childrens reading show, It’s Story Time site is: http://itsstorytimeforkids.blogspot.com

What is up next for you?

I am already working on a collection of short stories I have written, Short Stories and Other Imaginings For The Reading Spot, and a sequel to my first children’s picture book, JANOOSE THE GOOSE, called The Fall Feather Fair which I wrote with my grandson when he was 6 years old!

Do you have anything else to add?

 Thank you so much for having me on your blog and letting me share The Spy Game with you and your readers.

It was my pleasure to get to know you more J.D.!  All the best to you in the future.

Please follow J.D. Holiday’s WOI tour tomorrow at: http://andisrealm.blogspot.com

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meet J.D. Holiday

  1. VS Grenier says:

    Thank you for letting us get to know author and illustrator J.D. Holiday a bit better on your blog today.

Leave a Reply

