Meet Cheryl Carpinello

Welcome to my blog Cheryl. My readers and I would love to get to know you a bit more.

Cheryl Carpinello web

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I am a retired high school English teacher. I still enjoy working with kids so now I conduct Medieval Writing Workshops for elementary/middle school students and the Colorado Girl Scouts. I get my ‘kid fix’ but do not have all the paperwork to deal with that keeps me from writing.

Describe your desk/workspace.

I don’t really have a writing space. I write on my couch, at the kitchen table, at my desk, and outside on my patio! I just pick where I feel comfortable writing at that moment. The only consistency is that I usually listen to my favorite songs or have a favorite movie of mine on the television.

Do you have a favorite quote?

I do. Sic volvere Parcas. Translation: So spin the Fates. Just a bit of Greek Mythology to carry over from my teaching days.

What are you currently reading?

Are you ready for this? Destiny of the Sands by Rai Aren; Revision by David Michael Kaplan; The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan; The Guide to the Valley of the Kings by Alberto Siliotti; The Act of King Arthur and His Noble Knights by John Steinbeck; Where Men Win Glory by Jon Krakauer; and a couple of others that I haven’t picked up for a while. I learned to read more than one book at a time when I was in college. An English major takes three, maybe four literature classes at the same time. Lots of books to get read!

What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

The same advice I’m given my kids and my students. It comes from Hamlet: To thine ownself be true.

If you could have coffee with anyone, who would it be and why?

On a world scale, at this point in my life, I would like to sit down with Zahi Hawass, former Secretary General of Egyptian Antiquities. He intimately knows all of Egypt’s ancient monuments, and his insights into the lives of the ancient Egyptian people and their pharaohs would be fascinating to talk about.

On a personal level, it would be my parents who both passed from this world nearly forty years ago. I would share all that has happened in my life, what I’ve learned and experienced, my successes and my failures.

What are your top three favorite books and why?

That’s a hard one. I have many, and I reread books all the time. Tolkien’s The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings; Robert Ludlum’s The Bourne Identity; the Harry Potter series.

What was your favorite book as a child and why?

I fell in love with The Golden Stallion series by Rutherford Montgomery. I grew up a horse fanatic and haven’t changed much. The stories held excitement, danger, and created a world where I could imagine myself living.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

Not sure I have one. Maybe the fact that I love to write with my favorite songs blaring or watching/listening to my favorite movies like Star Wars, Lord of the Rings, the Indiana Jones movies, and a few others.

Do you write full-time or part-time?

I actually write part-time. The rest of the time I’m doing tasks related to my writing: thinking about my story, editing, working on my blog, or marketing my books. Today, most writers spend a lot of time marketing their work.

If you could do anything in the world, what would it be and why?

Take a year to fly around the world stopping at all the fabulous places I want to visit. I love traveling in the US and around the world. There are lots of places I want to see and explore like Italy and ancient Rome, Greece and its mythological sites, England and Wales, Transylvania, and many more.

What is the craziest thing you ever did? This could be as a writer or any other time in your life.

My husband and I flew to Egypt on my airline passes and spent two weeks there on our own. We didn’t go with a tour group, but made our reservations on the Internet. We rode the train from Cairo to Aswan to Luxor and then back to Cairo. We had a fantastic time. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Did you feel like a celebrity when you held your first published book?

It was more of a feeling of accomplishment. I’d spent five years working on Guinevere: On the Eve of Legend squeezing time in between teaching, grading, family, and working a second night job. It was exciting as well as a relief to hold the final product in my hands.

If you could have a star like on Hollywood Blvd., who would you want to have your star by?

Walt Disney. He fueled my imagination early on, and it’s been going strong ever since. I still make time to watch the old Disney movies and shows and try to stay up on the current movies carrying the Disney name.

Is there anything in your life you wish you could do over and why?

A few little things maybe, but nothing life changing.

Who has been your biggest support?

My family has been my biggest support. They have been there all along. My husband encourages me and sometimes reads my drafts. My son and daughter listened to my stories when they were little, and my daughter now beta tests my stories with her 6th grade students.

Would you share about any current writing projects?

Currently, I just finished the first draft of my next Tween/YA story. I move out of medieval Wales and go back to Ancient Egypt. My characters share a different type of quest from my Young Knights. It’s working title is Sons of the Sphinx. I’m hoping it will be out early in 2014.

What would be the best way for readers to contact you?

I’m on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/cheryl.carpinello1, Twitter https://twitter.com/ccarpinello, Goodreads http://www.goodreads.com/cherylcarpinello. They can also follow my blog Carpinello’s Writing Pages http://carpinelloswritingpages.blogspot.com/ and visit my website Beyond Today Educator http://www.beyondtodayeducator.com/.

Where can people find your book?

My books are available at all retail book stores including,

Amazon/Amazon UK:
Guinevere: http://www.amazon.com/dp/143273704X / http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/143273704X
Young Knights: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0086MEW76 / http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0086MEW76
Barnes & Noble
Guinevere: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/guinevere-cheryl-carpinello/1100076414
Young Knights: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/guinevere-cheryl-carpinello/1100076414
MuseItUp Publishing
Young Knights: http://museituppublishing.com/bookstore2/index.php?page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage.tpl&product_id=322&category_id=191&option=com_virtuemart&Itemid=1&vmcchk=1&Itemid=1

Is there anything else you’d like to share?

The King’s Ransom (Young Knights of the Round Table) encompasses many of elements of Arthurian Legend that kids love: knights, quests, danger, and adventure. It also has an 18-page Teacher’s Guide filled with activities for use at school or home. Additionally, I have published a separate smaller book Behind the Scenes of The King’s Ransom( http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00958MN1W ) that has character interviews, a virtual tour through Wales, and other extras.

The King’s Ransom has received the Children’s Literary Classics 2012 Seal of Approval for Recommended Reading as well as its 2012 Silver Award for YA Fiction. It has also been honored as 2012 Finalist from USA Best Book Awards for E-Book Children’s Fiction.

Thank you so much for visiting me on my blog!  It was such a pleasure getting to know you more Cheryl!  Good luck in all of your future writing projects!

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meet Cheryl Carpinello

  1. ccarpinello says:

    Thank you so much for hosting me and letting me share my books with your readers.

Leave a Reply

