June World of Ink Tour for Viji Chary

MEET VIJI CHARY

Thank you for joining us today, (Viji). Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I’ve lived in California nearly all my life. I went to school and college here. I also worked in the science field here. My husband and I raised our children with emphasis on science and music.  In the process, I’ve learned to be curious about various subjects.  This is great for writing.

Now my two teenage children and two young nephews keep me busy. My nephews love to read. They keep me in touch with my target audience.

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

I first became interested in writing in sixth grade. Our English teacher asked each student to write a story. At that time, I used to read the same books that I loved over and over again. I found it hard to find other interesting books. I felt a story should have excitement. So, in my English assignment, the MC and her friend had a swimming race across a lake. While the MC was swimming, ‘something’ pulled her leg. Scared, she hopped out of the lake and ran to the other side. The class voted my story the best! But, the story had holes in it. I didn’t know what pulled the MC’s leg. I just wanted excitement. And the resolution in the story was not strong enough. But, I enjoyed writing it so much that I decided be an author when I ‘grew up’.

Why did you decide to write for children?

When I was very young, I loved Curious George, Amelia Bedelia, Frog and Toad and Little Bear books. Although, writing is no longer in that format, I wanted to create something that is that long lasting.

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience?

While creating stories for young people, the writing has to be more focused. There is no room for extraneous words or touching on tangential topics. I don’t think it is difficult once you learn the technique.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

My favorite part of writing for this group is creating a text that flows smoothly. This kind of writing is deceptively simple. With a few words, a writer must creative strong characters, a plot, a conflict and good resolution. It takes a lot of re-reading and re-writing.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

My latest book is Porcupine’s Seeds. In this book, Porcupine longs to grow beautiful sunflowers in his garden, just like Raccoon. When Raccoon gives Porcupine seeds, she says that all they need is soil, sun, and water. But growing sunflowers is not easy for Porcupine.

Porcupine’s Seeds also connects to the early elementary science curriculum.

What inspired you to write it?

When my son was four, we planted seeds in small pots. As he went inside the house, he tripped over the threshold, and the soil and seeds scattered. This incident sparked a story idea that became Porcupine’s Seeds.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

Porcupine’s Seeds is available at http://4rvpublishingcatalog.yolasite.com/chary.php

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more?

My web-address is www.vijikchary.com. Here you can find more about my publications.

What is up next for you?

I just finished writing three ESL readers. Writing these high interest books for new English speakers and readers was an exhilarating challenge. I may write more.

Do you have anything else to add?

I’d like to thank you for interviewing me and introducing your readers to Porcupine’s Seeds.

Thank you for visiting with me on my blog Viji!  You are such an inspiration to all of us writers. It was an immense pleasure talking to you on Blogtalk Radio as well on June 4th.  

The best of luck with all of your future writing projects. 

Please follow Viji Chary’s June World of Ink Tour tomorrow at http://terri-forehand.blogspot.com/ 

 

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June World of Ink Tour for Viji Chary

  1. marleneahibbard says:

    Reblogged this on books2blikehimwordpress.com and commented:
    From Nancy I Sanders

Leave a Reply

