June World of Ink Tour For Laura Smith

MEET LAURA SMITH

Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I was raised on a dairy farm in Northeast Minnesota. I was married two weeks after I graduated high school. Four years later, I was facing divorce and single parenting. Fast forward 5 years and I re-married. We were looking forward to an amazing life together, another child or two only to be faced with disappointment, loss and heartbreak. Through it though we somehow managed to grow and strengthen our relationship and our faith. Now, aside from my full time job, I do wedding, senior, and family photography and am involved with our area Bethel Sozo healing and deliverance Ministry which was birthed out of Bill Johnson’s church in Redding California.  It is amazing!

Describe your desk/workspace.

Kitchen table, recliner, park bench… It’s whenever and wherever I can find the time and place.

What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

“God doesn’t have any grandkids”. This simply means that I am not personally responsible for my children or spouse’s salvation or walk with Him. I’m off the hook. I only need to nurture and strengthen my walk with Him.

If you could have coffee with anyone (living or dead, real or fictional), who would it be and why?

Jimmy Stewart. I guess I am really dating myself but the movie “Harvey” that he made in 1950 is magnificent! It is my all-time favorite movie.  Although Clint Eastwood’s last movie Grand Torino had such an impact on me that just thinking of the message in that movie still brings tears to my eyes. I don’t care for all the profanity but that is unfortunately the days we live in. I would love to sit down with Clint and ask him how it impacted him to basically “be” in a sense Jesus to the world in this day and age. Wow, powerful.

What are your top three favorite books and why?

The one I’m reading now is fantastic, Spirit Wars by Kris Vallotton

The Bible of course speaks life into me whenever I read it.

And “The Bait of Satan” by John Bevere speaks volumes about the power of forgiveness. It is so amazing that this book had such an impact me and now God has led me to the sozo ministry I’m in which entire premise is in the power of forgiveness in order to unlock ourselves from the “prisons” we are in.

What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I would say that I am so nonchalant about it. I don’t feel driven or hard pressed by a sense of time to complete anything much like a lot of other authors. I just trust that whatever I am working on will be completed in perfect timing.

Did you feel like a celebrity when you held your first published book?

Absolutely not. I was a bit overwhelmed and very humbled that God would do this! I still am and not quite sure what to do with myself. My immediate family is incredibly proud of me for sharing my most personal and painful memories in order to try and help others. Other family and some friends seem to see me differently like I’m untouchable or some super Jesus freak. Ha Ha, that is so funny! I’m the most down to earth average person you could ever imagine. I love throwing on old clothes and jumping on the 4-wheeler to go mudding and get as dirty as I possibly can.

Who has been your biggest support or inspiration?

My biggest supporter is a very dear friend who also happens to be my husband’s cousin is the one person who always believed in this project and encouraged me through the entire process to follow it through.

My biggest inspiration is a woman who I don’t even know that was healed instantly from her pain of experiencing a miscarriage when I shared my message for the first time in church.

Could you share about any current writing projects?

I am currently working on book #2 in the In All Things series called “Expect A Miracle!” It is about my dad’s two year journey through cancer.  Through his entire life, he was a very bitter and angry man with no relationship to speak of with his immediate family, siblings, and even his own children.  I will share how God worked in all of our hearts during that time and beyond.

Thank you for visiting me on my blog today Laura.  Best of luck with Book #2 in your series.  I look forward to reading it when it comes out. I was really moved by your story of strength, courage and inspiration.  Thank you for a wonderful book. I had a great time talking to you on Blogtalk Radio on June 11th, 2012.

For all of my readers, please go out and buy this wonderful book for your kids. And while you’re at it, read it yourself too.  It will move you and inspire you to greater things!

Please follow Laura Smith’s World of Ink Tour tomorrow for a BlogCritics Author Spotlight at http://blogcritics.org/culture/feature/mom-prefers/  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

