Day 1 of the Virtual Book Tour for the Working Writer’s Club

Meet Children’s Author Karen Cioffi

Please join me in welcoming Karen Cioffi as she takes us for an awe inspiring glimpse into her writing life.

As with most writers, I starting writing from an early age. In grammar school it was short stories, then in high school and into my late twenties, poetry took over. Writing poetry for children came about in my early twenties, when my first daughter was born.

It’s said that necessity is the mother of invention. Well, I was the mother of a baby who didn’t like sleeping and it became necessary to invent or create something that would help lull her to sleep. Along with this, the ‘very little’ sleep experience prompted me to write. So, I wrote a poem, Day’s End Lullaby.

With the poem in mind, as I sang all the standard lullabies, while holding her in my arms and walking her up and down the hallway in the middle of the night, I found myself also humming a melody and then singing the poem to it. This lullaby became the one that I sang over, and over, and over.

That’s how Day’s End Lullaby came about. And, it became the family lullaby right on through to my grandchildren.

But, as far as writing, there was a long, long pause. As a mother and wife, my days seemed to blur into each other. Then, when my children were three and seven, I needed to go to work. I did housecleaning for a couple of years until both my children were in school the full day. Then, I got a full-charge bookkeeping position and went to college at night for accounting.

I eventually became an assistant controller for a manufacturing company, but had to give up accounting due to Multiple Sclerosis. This created the opportunity to write again, and when my first grandson was born, my younger daughter urged me to turn Day’s End Lullaby into a children’s bedtime picture book.

It took several months to get the book into shape, doing my own illustrations. But, being a newbie I didn’t really know what a polished book was. And, I didn’t realize that unless you’re a professional illustrator you should never, no never, do your own illustrations.

While I had some talent in drawing, my ‘people’ always lacked an ‘aliveness.’ But, again, I was too new to realize doing my own illustrations would be a disservice to the book.

After many, many months of submissions and rejections, I decided to go the self-publishing route. I carefully analyzed a few PODs and vanity presses and decided on BookSurge, which is now CreateSpace. And, in late summer or fall of 2008, Day’s End Lullaby was published.

From that point I was hooked again and started taking children’s writing instruction and joined the Children Writer’s Coaching Club, which morphed into the Working Writers Club to encompass a wider range of writing genres and freelance writing. In addition, I attended all the free and some paid online conferences and workshops on writing and writing for children. I also joined a critique group.

Since then, I’ve gone into ghostwriting, freelance writing, and marketing. I’m also an editor with 4RV Publishing and a Writing Children’ s Fiction instructor with the Long Story Short School of Writing.

Learning the ‘writing for children’ ropes, and continuing to do so, last year I hired an illustrator to create new interior illustrations and a cover illustration for Day’s End Lullaby. He did an excellent job and I’m thrilled to be touring it for the first time since the revisions.

Karen Cioffi-Ventrice
Award Winning Author, Freelance Writer, Editor, Marketer

http://karencioffiwritingandmarketing.com
http://writersonthemove.com
http://karencioffi.com
http://dkvwriting4u.com

Karen it was great getting to know you more!  Thanks so much for being here on my blog today!

Please Follow Day 2 of Karen Cioffi’s Virtual Book Tour at: http://mayrassecretbookcase.com/

 

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Day 1 of the Virtual Book Tour for the Working Writer’s Club

  1. Donna McDine says:

    Hi Irene, thank you for hosting Karen on her Working Writer’s Club virtual boo tour, much appreciated.

    Hi Karen, I enjoyed learning more about your journey in becoming a writer.

    All the best,
    Donna

  2. karencv says:

    Irene, Thanks so much for featuring me during my book tour. It’s appreciated!

    Donna, Thanks for your support!

  3. karencv says:

    Irene, Thanks so much for featuring me during my book tour. It’s appreciated!

    Donna, Thanks for your ongoing support!

  4. thedarkphantom says:

    Hi Irene and Karen,

    Great post and a great start to the tour.

    I love the new cover for Day End’s Lullaby, Karen. It’s sweet!

  5. thedarkphantom says:

    BTW, the ‘Dark Phantom’ is me, Mayra. 🙂

  6. karencv says:

    LOL, Thanks Mayra. I used Kurt Wilchen for the new cover and interior illustrations. He did a wonderful job.The job took a long time, but the price was right. 🙂

  7. This reminds me that I used to sing quite an unusual assortment of songs to my kids including one that went something like “I get down on my knees and hug him…” Thank you for the reminder Karen. And the book!
    Best,

    Carolyn Howard-Johnson
    Excited about the new edition (expanded! updated! even more helpful for writers!) of The Frugal Book Promoter, now a USA Book News award-winner in its own right (www.budurl.com/FrugalBkPromo)

  8. irenesroth says:

    Hi Mayra,

    I thought so….but I wasn’t sure until you sent this message. Thanks so much for visiting! And Karen’s book cover is so so cute!

    Talk to you soon,
    Irene

  9. What a great story Karen and one that adds resonance to your wonderful book. I also was inspired to write by my children (and their sleepless nights were all part of that process!).

  10. What a WONDERFUL book!!! Thanks for sharing!

  11. Hi Karen, I didn’t realize you were touring your book this week. The cover is really nice.

    I enjoyed learning how the book came about. Sounds like it is a very special book. Best wishes on a very successful tour.

    We just found out my husband’s nephew’s wife is pregnant with their 2nd child. I think this book would make a nice gift for Christmas.

    Susanne
    PUTTING WORDS DOWN ON PAPER

  12. dancekam says:

    I love Karen’s book! I can’t wait to see the new illustrations. I hope you’re gonna show us at leastone during the tour.

  13. Hi Karen,
    Thanks for sharing your beginnings. What terrific careers you’ve had and are having.
    The cover of your book looks very peaceful and inviting–a calming way to end the day.

  14. karencv says:

    Irene, Somehow all my reply comments are gone.

  15. karencv says:

    Irene, all my comments are still held in moderation.

  16. karencv says:

    Nancy, Thank you!

    Susanne, Thank you for your support. And, congratulations on the happy news.

    Kathy, Thanks so much. I have a couple of illustrations on the book’s blogsite.

    Barbara, Thank you! That’s the feeling I wanted to convey – nice and peaceful. 🙂

Leave a Reply

