Day 1 of The Virtual Book Tour For the Working Writer’s Club

Day 1 – Meet Children’s Author, Kathryn Kessler

Please join me in welcoming Kathryn Kessler as she takes us for an awe inspiring glimpse into her writing life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is my very first virtual book tour and I am very excited to talk to you today about my book, Marvin Discover the Beach!

I would like to share with you why I choose this path, writing for children. I was raised on a farm in rural Alberta, Canada. My parents had a few milk cows, a horse, pigs, lots of cats and of course, what is a farm without a dog or two.

The farm was a wondrous place to grow up as a child. With the many animals and pets that were at my reach, I created stories, adventures even funny voices and characters for each of the kittens and dogs I played with. I was out in the farmyard playing everyday with my kittens, Stumble-bum, Blackie and Tabatha. I can’t forget to mention my first puppy, Cuddles. We would go on unique adventures to far away places together.

Even as an adult, I would “talk” for my pets. Especially as I raised my two boys. I would talk to my children “for” our pets. My boys would have conversations with our pets and we would all laugh. It was our fun thing to do as a family. To this day, we, meaning my boys and husband, talk for Marvin and Hibou. I guess, you could say that I have been developing this path ever since I was a child.

Marvin and Hibou are my current lovable and curious pets. As a matter of fact, it was Marvin who inspired my first book, Marvin Discovers Snow and of course my book being showcased this week, Marvin Discovers the Beach.

Marvin is an inquisitive, snoopy and adventurous puppy. (Well, he is nearly six years old, but still a puppy at heart!) Both my stories are based on his discovery of his world as a puppy. He lends himself to my imagination and inner child; together, we create the story.

To learn more about Marvin, go to http://www.marvindiscovers.com. There you will find pictures of Marvin, myself and Hibou. Marvin and I have also created some free activities for families to discover together. It is our hope that you will enjoy Marvin’s adventures so much that you will strike out on your own adventure and discover the world together with your children!

Kathryn Kessler
“Embrace that which defines you!”
marvindiscovers@gmail.com
http://marvindiscovers.com/
http://twitter.com/marvindiscovers
http://www.facebook.com/MarvinDiscoversBookSeries

Thank you for spending some time with me today Kathryn!  I’m so glad to get to know you more, and I look forward to hearing about your future successes!

We invite you to follow Kathryn Kessler tomorrow on her 5-day Working Writer’s Club Virtual Book Tour tomorrow at Mayra Calvani’s Secret Bookcase: http://mayrasecretbookcase.com/

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Day 1 of The Virtual Book Tour For the Working Writer’s Club

  1. Hi, Kathryn and Irene,

    Marvin Discovers is such a cute series of picture books.Kids of all ages will fall in love with Marvin and identify with all the new discoveries he makes!

    Happy reading!

    Suzanne

  2. Kathryn says:

    Hi Suzanne,

    Thank you for your kind words. Marvin and I have fun creating the adventures Marvin goes on!

    Enjoy!
    Kathryn

  3. Irene says:

    Hi Suzanne,

    Thanks so much for stopping by! Kathryn’s book is very cute. I think readers will find it really wonderful and they will learn a lot too!

    Please stop by again!
    Irene

  4. Irene says:

    Kathryn,

    What a great book! I am going to be reading it with a grade 4 class on Monday.

    Take care, and I hope you enjoy your Tour!
    Irene

  5. Kathryn says:

    Irene,

    Thank you so much for hosting my book on your site! It is a pleasure to be your guest. I look forward to hearing about your experience with my book and the grade 4 class.

    Enjoy your day,
    Kathryn

  6. Donna McDine says:

    Irene,

    Thank you for hosting kathryn.

    Kathryn,

    I’ve enjoyed learning about your personal background.

    Best regards,
    Donna

  7. Irene says:

    Hi Donna,

    Thanks so much for stopping by!

    Irene

Leave a Reply

