February 2012 WOI Tour

MEET KASEY KELLEM

Welcome to my blog today Kasey Kellem.  I look forward to getting to know and your work a lot more.

Could you tell us what age range is your book written for?

A: 4-7 preschool aged, though many teens and adults have my book displayed in their bedrooms or offices and feel the book is helpful to people of all ages!

Can you share a memory of yours or a story of you from when you were within the age range of your target readers?

A: When I was four years old, I was a Sesame Street fan and particularly like Oscar the Grouch!  One late afternoon my mother was looking out the window calling out for me to come in for dinner. She saw the garbage can lid go up and down several times until it occurred to her that is was me inside the very smelly metal garbage can. She marched outside, pulled me out of the can and I had to bathe SEVERAL times to get the garbage stench off of me. It was the ONLY time in my life that I was grounded: I couldn’t watch Sesame Street for a week! I think I may have been the only child to actually be grounded from watching Sesame Street!!!

How has life changed for children today than when you were that age?

A: I feel life is tougher for children now than it was for me. I had never heard of divorce or abuse of any sort. Cancer and autism didn’t seem to exist.  Life just seemed simpler, slower and more peaceful.  We played out doors every day and night because television was limited and there certainly weren’t video games. Play time was unorganized and unscheduled unlike the play dates created now and parents pushing their kids into every activity daily! Not only that, but I learned to read, write and do math IN  kindergarten,  whereas kids now have to know how to do all of that BEFORE going to kindergarten!!!

Everything is high speed now. I had to wait a week to see my favorite tv show again, wait until Sunday mornings to hear my favorite song on Kasey Kasem’s top 100 songs and wait hours for dinner to be made. Now everything is at a click of the finger. Children do not understand the concept of waiting or patience.

How is life still the same 

A:  I think very little is still the same. I guess some kids still play outside, like my nieces and nephews, and are still creative in their play! There are still parks for kids to enjoy, thankfully.

What was your favorite toy or activity when you were that age? 

A: playing with Legos because it allowed me to be creative. This was before they came in kits to create various trucks or machinery. You just created those things on your own with your own imagination!!! I could immerse myself for hours creating houses, cars and robots with my basic Lego shapes!

What inspired this book and how did you decide on this age range for your book?

A: I have been intrigued by resiliency since I began teaching. I even went back to college for another degree beyond my masters to study resiliency. I wanted to further my studies at the doctorate level to learn HOW to teach kids resiliency, but ran into some roadblocks.  I was still determined to somehow teach kids how to be resilient, so I later came up with the book idea. I want kids to learn resiliency skills early on in life because they will more than likely face challenges, adversity and obstacles in their lives and need these skills early to be prepared!

Finally, I have four kids. Over the years, they’ve attended a lot of birthday parties. I love the idea of building a theme gift around a book. If you were to give a gift basket to a child based on your book, what else would be in the basket besides (Believe)?

I would not only have the book, but also a Webkinz caterpillar since there is a hidden caterpillar on each page of the book. I may also include a “Believe” bookmark, “Believe” sticker and a “Believe” children’s picture frame.

Thank you so much for being here on my blog Kasey.  You are a wonderful author and I wish you much success and fulfillment as a writer.

To follow Kasey Kellem’s tour tomorrow, please visit http://writersandauthors.blogspot.com

 

 

 

 

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

