January 2012 WOI Tour for Rachel Yurchisin

Meet Rachael Yurchisin

Rachael, it is great to have you here on my blog today. I look forward to getting to know you better.

1. Could you please tell us a little about yourself?

I have a love of science and nature that has inspired me to write my first children’s book in the hopes of passing on my passion to other young “budding” naturalists. I am currently a junior in high school residing in Cleveland, Ohio. I feed my interest in animals and the natural world by participating in educational programs at the Cleveland Metroparks Zoo and the Cleveland Museum of Natural History. I am an athlete who participates in United States Tennis Association Junior tournaments and plays softball for my high school. I also compete in science fairs throughout Ohio and hope to revisit a national science fair that I was selected to represent the state of Ohio at in 2010.

2. Describe your desk/workspace.

I have a desk with my laptop that is always playing music. There isn’t a time when I’m writing that I don’t have music playing. I have little knick-knacks from my friends and family that keep me smiling and remind me that there is another life other than that found in my book.

3. Do you have a favorite quote?

Winston Churchill is quoted saying “Never, never, never, never give up!” These are words I live by for my attitude on court when playing tennis and for every aspect of my life.

4. What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading the Pendragon Series by D. J. Machale. It’s a 10 book series that I love; its hard to put down, each turn of the page has me riveted to my seat and fully immersed in the world the writer has created.

5. What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

The best advice I have ever received was from my parents, they always told me that they believed in me and told me to never give up on anything that I do. The reward in life is not to arrive at the destination but to live the journey.

6. If you could have coffee with anyone (living or dead, real or fictional), who would it be and why?

I would have coffee with Steve Irwin. He was my mentor and I have modeled my life after him. His entire legacy of wildlife warriors is what I wish to strive to do with my life when I am older.

7. What are your top three favorite books and why?

I love the Pendragon series of books, the Inheritance Trilogy, and the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I enjoy these books because they take place in fantasy worlds but explore the realm of good and evil; the eternal questions of morality that all people must confront. I find pleasure in characters and situations where a reader can use their imagination and enter the world of magic, dragons, and mystical events. I prefer fantasy books for my reading pleasure because they allow me to escape from reality and go to places this world has never known.

8. What was your favorite book as a child and why?

I read every single “Magic Treehouse” book when I was younger. They told fictional stories that “took place” during real historic events and time frames. Not only did this perk my interest in fictional stories but also taught me a lot of history.

9. What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I like to use a little sarcasm and jokes that often times only adult readers would understand or find funny. I offer it as just a little “reward” for the parent who may be reading my book to their child.

10. Do you write full-time or part-time?

Part-time, I have only written one book at this time.

11. What are your current marketing strategies for “Diary of My Days in Kenya?”

I have used Facebook and the web to begin publicizing my book. I have had a few book signing at local churches and craft fairs.

12. Could you share about any current writing projects?

I am not working on any particular project at this time, just working on school assignments and getting prepared to start my college career.

13. What would be the best way for readers to contact you?

By email at reyurchisin@adelphia.net

14. Where can people find your book?

“Diary of My Days in Kenya” can be found at http://www.halopublishing.com and also at Amazon.com.

15. Is there anything else you’d like to share?

I wish to thank all the people in my life who have made this part of the journey so rewarding. The true gift that I have received from all the people I have met due to this publication is the knowledge that they are sharing in my love of reading and writing and that love does not end, it keeps going on to every person who turns a page.

To follow Rachael’s Yurchisin’s WOI tour tomorrow, please visit, http://terri-forehand.blogspot.com/

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

