November WOI Tour for Stories for Children

Joining us today is Jan Britland, author of The Adventures of Rodger Dodger Dog. This is a children’s book geared toward ages pre-school through first grade.

Thank you for joining us today, Jan. Can you please start off by telling us a bit about yourself?

I am an artist and I teach oil painting to adults. I am retired and since writing The Adventures of Rodger Dodger Dog I have never been busier in my whole life. With school appearances and book signings the year just flies by.

When did you first get bit by the writing bug?

Through the years I would write stories and put them in a drawer. With The Adventures of Rodger Dodger Dog it started as a request from my daughter. I used to tell these stories to her. They are based on a dog in our N.J. neighborhood that would climb a tree to keep cool or to keep dry. I started to make up the stories to entertain my children on the long drive to school. My daughter is grown with children of her own and she asked me to write them down for her children. One thing led to another and they are now The Adventures of Rodger Dodger Dog.

Why did you decide to write for children?

Besides being extremely fun to write for young children these were stories I told to my children when they were young. I rhymed them so I could remember them from day to day. I think the rhyming text is very attractive to a young child. They can follow along easier even to the point of trying to read it themselves after hearing it a few times. I was further fueled by the encouragement of teachers and other educational professionals who loved the stories to get them published.

Do you believe it is harder to write books for a younger audience?

I don’t know if it is harder to write for children I find it very rewarding. I love receiving letters and pictures from Rodger’s young fans. I have them pinned to the walls around my desk. I imagine most writers feel the same way about what they write as well.

What is your favorite part of writing for young people?

The children. I love being at a school reading for the children and seeing their eyes riveted to the illustrations as I turn the pages. This is while a super-sized Rodger Dodger Dog is acting out the story as I read it.

Can you tell us what your latest book is all about?

The Adventures of Rodger Dodger Dog, Rodger Saves Bunny.

It starts with Rodger finding a helpless Bunny in the woods. He knows if Bunny can’t run, he isn’t safe. Rodger knows he is the only one who can help Bunny get well so they can have some fun. For Rodger would chase and Bunny would run its how they had their daily fun. When Bunny wakes up, he is terrified of Rodger Dodger. Bunny proceeds to let Rodger know, “I am scared that’s why I run! To me that isn’t having fun!” Rodger is shocked! He realizes he has been bullying Bunny and he apologizes. Now they both can run and have fun! With action-packed colorful illustrations the children love it.

What inspired you to write it?

When the stories start they play like cartoons in my head. I never know where they are going. When Bunny woke up in this story and was terrified of Rodger, I thought this can’t be happening, Rodger is the main character! As it continued the end was a surprise even to me.

Where can readers purchase a copy?

Amazon.com, Barnes & Noble.com and http://www.rodgerdodgerdog.com/

Do you have a website and/or blog where readers can find out more?

www.rodgerdodgerdog.com

What is up next for you?

I am planning to pitch The Adventures of Rodger Dodger Dog to TV animation companies this coming year for a cartoon series.

Do you have anything else to add?

Children can go to Rodger’s web site and play the Help Rodger Find His Friends game. When they click on a hiding friend a fact pops up about that particular animal. www.rodgerdodgerdog.com.

The Adventures of Rodger Dodger Dog, 1st book trailer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ex9BkymlPTk

Thank you for spending time with us today, Jan. We wish you much success.

It’s my pleasure, thank you for having me.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to November WOI Tour for Stories for Children

  1. Thanks again for having me on today! This was great! Jan

  2. Marsha Cook says:

    Very interesting interview. I have read the series and the books are alot of fun andvery colorful.

  3. Irene says:

    Hi Marsha,

    Thanks so much for visiting. I look forward to reading the books myself.

    ~ Irene

  4. Thanks so much for sharing about Jan Britland’s books. She is a wonderful author and my kids just love the Rodger Dodger Dog series.

Leave a Reply

