World of Ink Tour, August 2011, for SFC

Meet Tal Yanai

It is truly an honor to have Tal Yanai here on my blog today. He is the author of several books. I just love his books and I would love to give the readers of this blog an opportunity to get to know you some more.

1. Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I was born In Israel forty-three-years ago. As a struggling student, I was considered a troublemaker in school. In tenth grade I was diagnosed with dyslexia, which explained my learning difficulties but it did little to ease my frustration with myself and my everyday struggles. I had no mentors I could confide in or look up to. At the age of twenty-three, when I moved to the U.S., I was inspirited and started on a spiritual path, which has led me to align myself with my soul’s essence and mission.

For two years I worked as an historical analyst at the Survivors of the Shoah Visual History Foundation, established by Steven Spielberg. As part of my job, I listened every day to testimonies of Holocaust survivors. Many were children or teenagers during WWII and their stories greatly influenced my decision to become involved with educating youth, and I proceeded to get a Teaching Credential in Social Studies.

Bringing two wonderful children into the world gave me a new sense of urgency to share and teach everything I learned about God and spirituality. Today, I teach Hebrew and Judaic Studies in Temple Beth Hillel in Valley Village, CA as I continue my quest to explore the road of life and achieve my full potential as a spiritual teacher. Writing Life Is Not a Candy Store: It’s the Way to the Candy Store (the first in many books to come) was a natural step in this direction.

2. Describe your desk/workspace.

My writing space is everywhere I go. I get inspiring ideas in many different places, and when possible I would write them down in my notebook. And if I have time during the day, I would pull out my pc and expend on my thoughts. Live your wringing, don’t limit yourself to a writing space because many inspiring ideas come when you least expecting them.

3. Do you have a favorite quote?

I have read so many wonderful quotes that it’s impossible to single out only one. But…Henry Ford said once, “If you think you can do a thing or think you can’t do a thing, you’re right”. There is no better way to sums up what our will is capable of.

4. What are you currently reading?

Write now I am rereading the book Soul Love by Sanaya Roman. It is a must read to anyone looking to reconnect with his soul.

5. What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

I forgot in which book I read it, but the advice was to ignore the inner voice telling us, “I’m not good enough. I have nothing to add on the subject. Who is going to read this? Why me?” Instead, have the courage to write and create something new. Think about an ice cream store with many flavors. What you create becomes one more flavor in the store. And this flavor is unique because it is yours.

6. If you could have coffee with anyone (living or dead, real or fictional), who would it be and why?

This is an easy one-God. Absorbing a tiny portion God’s love and the endless wisdom is would be an experience to remember. I can’t think about any other event that would come even close to it.

7. What are your top three favorite books and why?

My favorite book is Conversation with God. It has so much wisdom and so much love in it that I could read it again and again. In fact, I’m glad I wrote my book before I read CWG because for awhile after reading it, I thought it was so complete, there was no need for anymore books on the subject of spirituality.

My second favorite book is Soul Love by Sanaya Roman. Reading this book will help you understand and reconnect with your soul.

My third favorite book is Personal Memories by U. S. Grant. As a history teacher, I love to learn history through personal stories; it brings history alive. First, I admired the role Grant played in our history. Then I learned to admire his modesty, and to enjoy his sense of humor, which I didn’t expect to find in such a man.

8. What was your favorite book as a child and why?

Growing up in Israel, I enjoyed the most reading comics about the Wild West. It took me to magical places, where I had riveting adventures. It was many years later that I learned that many of the places and events I read about where actually real.

9. What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

I get many inspiring ideas while walking or hiking. So if ever you see someone taking notes while walking in the park there is a good chance it’s me.

10. Do you write full-time or part-time?

Right now I write part-time but my hope is one day (soon) to write and have speaking engagements full time.

11. Could you share about any current writing projects?

Right know, I am writing two new books. One is the second in the series of is Life Is Not a Candy Store: It’s the Way to the Candy Store. If the first one is for teens, this one will be for young adults and will look at ways spirituality can help dealing with issues YA face.

I am also in the process of writing another book for teens. This one will deal with the subject of happiness and will help teens to find ways of becoming happier.

12. What would be the best way for readers to contact you?

I love to hear and read comments from readers, and the best way to contact me is by sending me an email to Author@talyanai.com

13. Where can people find your book?

People can find Life Is Not a Candy Store by going to my website, www.talyanai.com  They can also find it on Amazon, Barnsandnoble.com, as well as on many other book stores on the web.

14. Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Your life is the meaning you give it. I made mine to be about my relationship with God. The meaning of my role as a family man, a teacher, and as an author is based, first and foremost, on my relationship with God. This is where I find love, inspiration, courage and perseverance. I hope the book will do well and people will buy it, but the act of creating in partnership with God is much more important to me. Give your life the highest meaning, and you will find nothing but blessing.

Thank you for stopping by and chatting with us today Tal Yanai. It’s been a pleasure to get to know you.

Please follow Tal Yanai tomorrow at: http://thecryptocapersseries.blogspot.com.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to World of Ink Tour, August 2011, for SFC

  1. VSGrenier says:

    Great interview and Tal Yanai is offering a Book Giveaway, too!

    Book Giveaway!
    · Join the Book Lovers Blog Hop. (One entry)
    · Follow the World of Ink Tours and leave a comment per tour blog stop. (must leave a real comment about the author, tour or book. Saying “this is cool” or “I love your book” will not count.) Make sure to include your safe email so we can contact you if you are the winner. Example: vsgrenier AT storiesforchildrenpublishing DOT com. (One bonus entry per blog stop)
    · Ask a question per World of Ink Tour blog stop. (One bonus entry per tour blog stop)

Leave a Reply

