Meet Clayton Paul Thomas, World Of Ink Tour for July, 2011

I want to thank you for being my guest here on my blog Clayton! It is truly an honour to get to know you better.

1.   Could you tell us a little about yourself?

      ***Absolutely!  I am a married stay at home father of two boys (Ages 7 and 4).  About 18 months ago, I was encouraged by my wife to write a parenting book based on my experiences with over 400 children as a residential house parent, an elementary teacher, and a father.  The book is called Tantrums, Troubles, and Treasures.  The website my book is sold on is also a parenting blog.  Between raising the family and writing the book/blog, it’s a small wonder I can breathe.  

2.   Describe your desk/workspace.

      ***Messy- but I share it with my wife.  In my ideal world, my desk would have a computer, a notebook, a pen, and some post it notes.  I am a simple man.

3.   Do you have a favorite quote?

       ***I use quotes to start every chapter of my book.  I don’t really have a favorite but one that comes to mind was by the tennis great Arthur Ashe.  “The ideal attitude is to be physically loose and mentally tight.”  I feel like that describes how I feel when working with children.   

4.   What are you currently reading?

        ***I read lots of parenting blogs every week.  Even though I have written a book, I feel like there’s always more to learn.  I just finished a book called Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell.  It’s about how societal influences helped certain people reach greatness from Bill Gates to sports athletes.  

5.   What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

         ***The best advice I have ever received may have been from my wife.  Her advice is for me to “go for it.”  She’s a very positive person and those simple words motivate me.  “Go for it” tells me to give it all I’ve got and to not give up.

6.   If you could have coffee with anyone (living or dead, real or fictional), who would it be and why?

        ***No one because I don’t drink coffee.  Seriously though, I’d sit down with Jesus.  I’m not trying to be corny but he’s the most compelling figure that comes to mind.  

7.   What are your top three favorite books and why?

       ***A.  Financial Peace by Dave Ramsey.  He laid out a simple gameplan to keep my finances on track and it has worked like a charm.

             B.  Rich Dad Poor Dad by Robert Kiyosaki.  It’s a simple book outlining the differences between the way his “rich dad” and his “poor dad thought.  I majored in Psychology and Communications so the book struck me as fascinating.    

             C.  The Bone Collector by Jeffrey Deaver.  This book actually scared me.  It’s certainly my favorite fiction book of all time.  

8.   What was your favorite book as a child and why?

       ***Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume.  I read this book to all of my classes when I was a teacher as well. \

9.   What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

       ***I don’t know if this is quirky but I have to have a notebook that outlines general ideas of what I am going to write.  I don’t think I have ever written a blog or any part of my book without having a notebook beside me.

10.   Do you write full-time or part-time?

        ***Part time- my family keeps me hopping.

11.   What are your current marketing strategies for Tantrums, Troubles, and Treasures?

          ***I have a blog and a website that promotes the book.  I am also in the process of lining up a speaking tour this fall.  Social media is used as well. (Facebook, Twitter, and Linkedin)

12.   Could you share about any current writing projects?

          Most of my time is spent marketing and writing my blog on Tuesday’s and Friday’s. There will be a second book down the line but I have only written the outline and am not in a hurry to move forward with it.

13.   What would be the best way for readers to contact you?

         ***All questions can be asked at tantrumstroublesandtreasures@yahoo.com.  Readers can also leave comments on my blog at http://www.claytonpaulthomas.com

14.   Where can people find your book, Tantrums, Troubles, and Treasures?

          ***My book can be purchased from my website at http://www.claytonpaulthomas.com.  It can also be purchased at http://www.lulu.com.  Finally, http://www.amazon.com also carries my book.

15.   Is there anything else you’d like to share?

         ***I’d like to thank everyone for reading this interview!  I really believe all of us can become better parents.  Hopefully, my book and blog will give you some more parenting tools to add to add to your parenting toolbelt!  Please come and see me when I am in a town near you.  If you are into social media, feel free to link up with me.

            Facebook: claytonpaulthomas

            Twitter: @claylauren2001

            Linkedin: clayandlauren

Thank you so much for taking the time to be with me today Clayton. I wish you the best of luck in all of your future writing endeavours.

Please follow Clayton Thomas’s next World of Ink Tour Stop tomorrow at: http://storiesforchildrenmagazine.org/pastfeaturedguests.aspx.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meet Clayton Paul Thomas, World Of Ink Tour for July, 2011

  1. Thanks so much for the interview. It is greatly appreciated!!!

    Clayton

  2. VSGrenier says:

    Great interview with Clayton. I really love his book. I hope everyone will also enter his Tour Giveaway. Here are the details…
    Book Giveaway Rules:
    One entry for each comment left per author virtual blog tour stop. (Must leave a real comment about the author, tour or book. Saying “this is cool” or “I love your book” will not count.) Make sure to include your safe email so we can contact you if you are the winner. Example: vsgrenier AT storiesforchildrenpublishing DOT com.

    Ask a question – get a bonus entry per author virtual blog tour stop.

    Book Giveaway ends July 31, 2011

    Good Luck Everyone and you can follow Clayton’s tour at http://storiesforchildrenpublishing.com/ClaytonPThomas.aspx

  3. Karen Cioffi says:

    Parenting is the most important job anyone will ever undertake; having helpful guides and books to help along the way is always beneficial. It sounds like your book will be very helpful. Best wishes for its success.

Leave a Reply

