World of Ink Tour for June: Meet V.S. Grenier

I want to sincerely thank you for being my guest here on Inspiring Books and Products for Kids. You are such an inspiration to all writers and authors.

What inspired you to write?

I didn’t start off writing to become an author. I thought it would be a nice hobby while I stayed home with my kids. As I started writing in my spare time and taking writing courses, the writing bug bit me. Next thing you know, I’m sending out manuscripts to publishers. I look back and think, why didn’t I start writing sooner in life. I really love doing what I do and wouldn’t trade working from home for anything.
Do you consider yourself a born writer?

No, I don’t. I’m still learning new tricks of the trade when crafting a story. There are times stories or article ideas come to me and then other times…I have to do writing prompts to help spark an idea or thought. But I don’t mind not being a born writer. It’s fun learning from my mistakes.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? If yes, how did you ‘cure’ it?

I can’t say I suffer from writer’s block in the way most writers do. I suffer from not having enough time in my day to jot everything down that comes to mind. Then when I do get the chance to sit and writer, I find it hard to remember the thought or idea I once had. I guess that’s kind of like writer’s block.

Have you had any training to become a writer?

Yes, I’ve taken writing classes and workshops. And even though I teach writing courses now, I still attend conferences and take workshops. You never know if someone has some information you didn’t know about or has a better way of doing something you already know.

What type of books do you mostly write?

I tend to write picture books and YA novels. I would love to write chapter books, but for some reason I have a really hard time with that style of writing. Maybe one day I’ll somewhat master the technique.

Do your children inspire any of books, characters, or plots?

Yes, of course they do. My book “Babysitting SugarPaw” is based off my childhood and my son’s a little bit. I have another book which is based completely off my middle daughter. A lot of my short stories in magazines are also based off family members like my dad or mom. I think it is hard to keep your family or friends out of your books completely.

Please follow The World Of Ink Tour with V.S. Grenier tomorrow at Writing to the Hearts of Children at http://terri-forhehand.blogsplot.com.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to World of Ink Tour for June: Meet V.S. Grenier

  1. VS Grenier says:

    Thanks Irene for having me as a guest on your blog today.

    Also, come learn why SugarPaw hopes to get rid of his babysitter, Bonnie Whiskers. Anyone who has ever done babysitting will be able to empathize with Bonnie Whiskers and her plight.

    Follow along during my June 2011 World of Ink Tour and one lucky Blog Hopper will Win a FREE autographed copy of my book “Babysitting SugarPaw.”

    The rules are easy. Leave a comment, your name and email (sample storiesforchildren AT vsgrenier DOT com), and you will be put into a random drawing. The more blogs you visit and comments you leave, the more your name will be entered.

    One comment per blog equals One Entry!
    If you ask a question at a blog, I’ll give you a bonus entry.

    Good luck! Contest ends June 30th.
    VS Grenier’s World of Ink Tour Schedule
    http://storiesforchildrenpublishing.com/BabysittingSugarPaw.aspx

  2. Margot Finke says:

    Haven’t we met somewhere before, Virginia? (grin) Either that, or you are the one I knows twin?
    Fun to read about you mate. Best of luck. That title should sell it for you. really cute!

    Margot’s Magic Carpet
    Kids Books With a WOW Factor!
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/
    http://hookkidsonreading.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

