Day 1: Meet Suzanne Lieurance of The National Writing For Children Center Tours

The Lure of Historical Fiction through the Writings of Children’s Author Suzanne Lieurance

I’m so excited to be here to kick off the 6-day virtual tour for my book, The Locket: Surviving the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire.

Let me tell you a little bit about how I decided to start writing for children and how I came up with the idea for this particular book.

I actually started writing for children when I was in 5th grade. My teacher, Mrs. Smith, used to let us put on plays for the class every Friday. The only requirement was that we write the scripts for these plays ourselves. A few of my classmates and I got together and came up with an idea for our first play. I was the one chosen to write the script. Later, when we performed our little story in front of the class, everyone loved it. They laughed in the right places, cheered in the right places, even gasped and booed in the right places, so I was hooked on writing. I was a bit shy for the acting, but I loved seeing how the audience reacted to what I had written. I wrote more plays that year, although, for the life of me, I can’t remember what any of them were about, and the scripts were thrown away long ago, which is too bad. It would have been fun to reread them now.

Anyway, I loved writing from those days on. I didn’t write more scripts. Instead, I wrote stories and poems. My poems were pretty bad. But I think my stories were okay. These days, I’m more likely to be writing nonfiction that fiction. Yet I still love to write fiction and I’m working on another middle grade novel right now.

I hope you’ll read and enjoy The Locket: Surviving the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire and my nonfiction book called The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire and Sweatshop Reform. Several years ago, I wrote the nonfiction book about this tragic fire. Then, a few years later my editor contacted me and asked if I’d be interested in writing a historical novel about this event, so that’s how I got the idea for The Locket.

If you have any questions about any of my books or about writing for children, just leave them for me here. I’ll be checking in all week and answering any questions that have been left for me.

Happy reading!

Suzanne Lieurance

Follow Day 2 of Ms. Lieurance’s tour tomorrow at www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com. Leave a comment and your name will automatically be entered to win a Three Angels Gourmet Co mug and a package of Divine Dill Dip Mix – at the end of the month, provided by the National Writing for Children Center.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 1: Meet Suzanne Lieurance of The National Writing For Children Center Tours

  1. Donna McDine says:

    Hi Suzanne:

    I always find it interesting to learn of an author’s background. How extensive do you get with your research for a historical fiction manuscript?

    Best wishes,
    Donna

  2. Margot Finke says:

    Suzanne I am going to read your book. It sounds wonderful – a slice of history. My husband’s aunt was a refugee from Europe and worked in the garment trade in New Your. Boy, could she tell stories about her and her sister. A picture of the two of them sewing now hangs in the halls of Ellis Island.

    Margot’s Magic Carpet – all 11 of my books on one page
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

  3. Pingback: 100th Anniversary of the Triangle Shirtwaist Fire – Follow My Book Tour to Mark This Occasion | Suzanne Lieurance - Writing Coach and Freelance Writer

  4. Suzanne,

    It was great to have you here on my blog today!

    ~ Irene

Leave a Reply

