Day 1: Meet Author Sherrie Madia of The National Writing For Children Center Tours

Meet the creator of Bumblelina by Children’s Author Sherrie Madia

Welcome to day one of Sherrie Madia’s 6-day NWFCC March Author Showcase tour. Enjoy your time with Ms. Madia as she provides a glimpse into her creative world.

I have been writing since I was a five years old. I would entertain myself by writing down stories I heard or ideas that caught my fancy. I would keep it all in a pink pocket-sized diary that I kept by my bedside. But my own children inspired me to begin writing for children. When my youngest, Anna, was quite young, we made up a story together about a dog that ate alphabet soup and then started to talk. We wrote it on a scrap of paper and I tucked it away. That was more than 10 years ago. As my girls started growing up, I was looking for a way to keep us involved in each other’s lives——so writing a children’s book together made perfect sense. We have had so much fun as a family, and we all learned a lot as well. That was my foray into writing for children.

The idea for Bumblelina was based on the idea that in the midst of our instant-gratification, fast-paced society, there is a widespread need for a return to the basics. Values like hard work, honesty, friendship, respecting the environment, and caring about one another are more important than ever, so I wanted to create a series of values-based books for preschoolers, and Bumblelina is the first in the Bumblelina book series.

My daughters challenged me to write something simple, and Bumblelina became our latest family project. I couldn’t resist the urge to work on another family project. In Bumblelina, we carried through the simplicity of the words, designed to engage children in the rhythmic sounds by keeping the illustrations in simple sketch form with just a single spot of color on each page.

As for the character, itself, the poet, Ralph Waldo Emerson (1801-1882) wrote of “the dozing humble-bee” and indeed, the humblebee, as the bumblebee was historically known, was named so for its social nature. Thus, a bumblebee seemed the perfect character through which to share a series of life lessons for young children.

Follow Day 2 of Ms. Madia’s tour tomorrow at http://www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com. Leave a comment and your name will automatically be entered to win a Three Angels Gourmet Co mug and a package of Divine Dill Dip Mix – at the end of the month, provided by the National Writing for Children Center.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 1: Meet Author Sherrie Madia of The National Writing For Children Center Tours

  1. Donna McDine says:

    Sherrie:

    Fascinating way to keep the love of literature alive by working on a family project together.

    Best wishes for your continued success,
    Donna

  2. thedarkphantom says:

    It was the same for me. I got inspired to write for children after I had children of my own. Thanks for sharing this!

  3. Margot Finke says:

    I love the idea of a return to basics as the idea for a children’s book. Congratulations Sherrie. Best og luck with this intriguing book.

    Margot’s Magic Carpet – all 11 books on one page.
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

  4. Thanks, Donna.

    It’s true that once you’ve experienced creating a book, including what it takes to formulate an idea and then drive it from conception to implementation, the value goes way up. As a bibliophile, to be able to pass this along to my girls–as well as the younger children I meet when I give readings at elementary schools–is very special.

    Best,
    Sherrie

  5. Hi Sherrie,

    It was great hosting you today!

    ~ Irene

Leave a Reply

