World of Ink Tour For Stories For Children Magazine

       Meet Authors Heather Listul Hewitt and Tom Listul
      


       What inspired you to write?
       
       Tom: I started writing just as an outlet to express myself
       through story telling. Song writing is the same way for me. I
       enjoy telling a story that takes a person somewhere that
       they can relate to.
      
       Heather: I enjoy writing as a way to escape to a different
       place and look at ideas in different ways. It is fun to see
       where a story can go. 
       
       Do you consider yourself a born writer?
       
       Tom: Not really. I think once you get past that I have an
       idea moment, that’s when the writing process kicks in. It
       can be frustrating, but rewarding at the same time.  I am
       just glad I get ideas to work with. 
      
       Heather: No. I think everyone has some type of creativity
       that can be expressed in many ways. Writing is one way
       that I feel I can use to express creativity. However, I just
       graduated with my Master’s degree in August 2010, so I
       have not had much time to be writing recently.
       
       What types of books do you mostly write?
       
       This is our first children’s book that we have written. So, we
       are enjoying the whole process of seeing a small idea turn
       into a full coloured book that children will find enjoyable to
       read. 
       
       Do your children inspire any of your books, characters
       or plots?
       
       Tom: Yes, they have. Their personalities and uncanny way
       of looking at life inspire me every day.
       
      Can you share with us a little about your current book?
      
       This is a story about a little girl who wakes up for school
       one morning and finds that her little brother has been
       replaced by a monkey in his bed. The story takes you
       through their day as the little girl tries to explain to
       everyone about the monkey wearing her brother’s clothes.
       There is a twist at the end of the story when the truth of the
       story is revealed. 
       
       What is the most difficult part of writing?
       
       Tom: Coming up with an idea for a story is the easy part.
       Finishing the story is the hard part.
      
       Heather: I think organizing thoughts and fully developing a
       story can be difficult.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to World of Ink Tour For Stories For Children Magazine

  1. VS Grenier says:

    Great review and thanks for hosting Tom and Heather.

Leave a Reply

