World of Ink Tour For Stories For Children Magazine

MEET AUTHOR MAYRA CALVANI

 

I want to thank you Mayra for being here on my blog, Inspiring Books and Products for Kids.
       
Thanks for having me as your guest, Irene! It’s a pleasure to be
here.
       
       Do you consider yourself a born writer?
       
       I do. From an early age, it became obvious to me, my parents, and
       teachers that I was a ‘good’ writer. My writing was what made me
       stand out, what made me popular. I loved to create stories and
       live through my characters. I would be miserable if I couldn’t
       write and in fact, I am miserable on those days I can’t write. I
       always say a happy writer is a happy mama.
       
       Have you had any training to become a writer?
       
       I have a B.A. in English Literature and Creative Writing. I have
       also taken courses and workshops online. In addition, I have
       studied many books on the craft of writing. Writing is an evolving,
       never ending process. 
       
    Do your children inspire any of your books, characters or plots?
       
       Yes, my children have inspired some of my characters. My son
       was my inspiration for the little boy in my picture book, Crash! My
       daughter was my inspiration for the protagonist in The Luthier’s
       Apprentice (a MG novel currently doing the agent/editor
       roundup). When I’m short for ideas, I always turn to my kids.
       Children can be very original!
       
       What is the most difficult part of writing for you?
       
       Staying disciplined and shutting down my inner critic.
      
       Do you find it hard to balance your personal writing time with your other job(s)?
      
       I am a full time writer and my kids are older now, so I don’t have
       to struggle the way I used to in the past. I have more time now. I
       usually work from 9 a.m. until 3 p.m.  Sometimes, I have errands
       and my schedule changes, and that’s okay. From 4 p.m. to about 8
       p.m., I spend with my family. Then from 8 p.m. until 11 p.m., I’m
       back at the computer. I write when I can. Though I prefer
       mornings to write, I’ve learned to write any time, any where. 
       
       Tell us about your writing space.
       
       I have a little office all to myself, with a big desk and bookshelves
       all around. I like my desk to stay tidy. I love office supplies and
       make sure I always have a surplus supply of them. I sit on a
       leather swivel chair. I keep an exercise mat nearby and sometimes
       take breaks to do sit ups or stretching exercises. My neck and
       shoulders tend to get very stiff when I write. 
       
       I thank you Mayra for taking the time to share so many wonderful ideas about being an author. 

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World of Ink Tour For Stories For Children Magazine

  1. Marsha Cook says:

    I think you seem to have a good plan to get your writing done. You allow yourself a time change to write and actually set time every day to do what most writers would like to do …WRITE!
    Good Luck and best wishes for a long happy writing career.
    Marsha Cook
    President – MichiganAvenue Media

  2. VS Grenier says:

    Great interview. Thanks for posting.

  3. Thanks for hosting me, Irene!

  4. Randi Mrvos says:

    Thanks for letting us get to know Mayra!

Leave a Reply

