Meet Author Cheryl Malandrinos

  

          
  

I would like to thank you for being my guest on my blog. I am
really excited to get to know you more and to inform the readers of my blog of your many talents. I will be mostly focusing on your
writing habits and how you developed them today.
 
     
       Thanks so much for having me.
      
       It’s my pleasure Cheryl!
      
       What inspired you to write?     
 
       I’ve always loved writing. I was one of those odd kids who even
       enjoyed writing reports or outlining chapters. Mysteries and
       historical novels have always been some of my favorites. When I
       was younger, I wrote Scooby Doo type mysteries and a bit of
       poetry. My first completed manuscript was mainstream women’s
       fiction and based loosely upon the lives of me and my two sisters.
       Right now, I am focusing on writing for children. I want to write
       books my kids will want to read.
      
       Do you consider yourself a born writer?
      
       A born writer like Stephen King, Mark Twain, or William
       Shakespeare? No. I write because I have to; I wouldn’t feel
       complete without my writing. I still struggle with certain aspects
       of the craft, so, I am constantly working to improve these areas.
      
       Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? If yes, how did you
‘cure’ it?
      

       I don’t, but I think that’s because my time is so limited. I can’t
       afford to waste it. The other reason is that my ideas brew for quite
       a long time before they make their own onto my PC.
      
       The few times the words didn’t come as easily as I wold like, I
       critiqued another writer’s work or went for a walk.
      
       Have you had any training to become a writer?      

       When I decided to embark upon a career in writing, I enrolled in
       the Breaking Into Print Program offered by Long Ridge Writers
       Group. I graduated in December 2005 and soon began working for
       online magazines to create time management and organizational
       articles.
      
       For fiction writing, the majority is self-taught, using tons of
       practice, writing workshops, and reading books on craft.
      
       What is the most difficult part of writing?      

       Other than finding ideas for children’s books, I’ve always
       struggled with showing versus tellin. It takes me many tries to get
       it right. Luckily, I love editing. Feedback from my critique groups
       is very helpful too.
      
       Do you find it hard to balance your personal writing time with
your other job(s)?
      

       Even as organized as I am, I find I over commit and feel
       overwhelmed. My job with Pump Up Your Book! Doesn’t leave a
       lot of writing time, so I have to take advantage of whatever time I
       can find during the week.
      
       My schedule is such that I work from 8 a.m. to 3 p.m. most days of
       the week, and then a tiny bit on weekends. I am most productive
       after the girls go to bed. So, I put in a few hours then too.
      
       What is the creative process like? What happens before sitting
       down to write?
      
       It takes me a long time to get ready to write. Ideas usually stew
       with me for a year or more. Not a way to be very productive, but
       as a character-driven reader, I feel I need to get to know my
       characters and their motivations well before sitting down to tell
       their stories. I interview them, brainstorm with other writers, and
       perform my research before I type the first word.
      
       Author Website: http://ccmalandrinos.com
       Blog Address: http://littleshepherdchildrensbook.blogspot.com
       Twitter URL: http://twitter.com/ccmalandrinos
       Facebook URL:
       http://www.facebook.com/#!/profile.php?id=1110037692
       Publisher Website: http://www.guardianangelpublishing.com
       Amazon.com Book URL: http://www.amazon.com/Little
       Shepherd-Cheryl-C-Malandrinos/dp/1616330856
       Places where your book(s) are available for sale other than
       Amazon.com:
       http://search.barnesandnoble.com/books/e/9781616330859
       http://www.indiebound.org/book/9781616330859
       http://www.guardianangelpublishing.com/little-shepherd.htm

       Book synopsis:

       Obed is in the hills outside Bethlehem when the angels appear to
       announce the Savior’s birth. Can he trust that the miracle of the
       first Christmas will keep his flock safe while he visits the newborn
       King?

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meet Author Cheryl Malandrinos

  1. VS Grenier says:

    Thanks for hosting Cheryl today. She’s an inspiration to everyone in the writing world.

  2. ccgevry says:

    Thanks for having me today. So sorry I am late in checking in. We’re buried under 20 inches of snow and it’s still coming down. The house has been full of kids all day and it’s just crazy here.

    I’ll be around if anyone has questions.

    Thanks again.

    Cheryl

  3. Jaime says:

    I love editing, too! I’m editing my novel right now and there is something satisfying to me about red ink on the page. 🙂

  4. Margay says:

    Cheryl, I love reading about how others came into writing. I think I fall under the “born writer” column as I come from writer stock (my maternal grandmother was a cousin to Amy Lowell, James Russel Lowell and Robert Lowell) and I think I started writing the first time I picked up a pencil or crayon. It’s in my blood!
    Margay

  5. April says:

    Wonderful interview! Cheryl, you are a wonder and I admire and commend you for everything that you do!

  6. Dorothy says:

    Great interview, Cheryl! I’ve known Cheryl for some time and she’s the most genuine person I know. Read her children’s book, reviewed it and highly recommend it…a children’s author that will continue to shine!

  7. dogsrulecatsdrool says:

    I reviewed Little Shepherd at Paperback Writer. It was a nicely written and wonderfully illustrated children’s book.

Leave a Reply

