Day 1 of Suzanne Lieurance’s Virtual Book Tour for the National Writing For Childrens Center

          Meet Children’s Author Suzanne Lieurance

          
I’m so excited to be here at Irene Roth’s blog to kick off the 6-day virtual tour for my book, The Lucky Baseball: My Story in a Japanese-American Internment Camp. Let me tell you a little about how I decided to start writing for children and how I came up with the idea for this particular book. 

         
          I actually started writing for children when I was in 5th grade.
          My teacher, Mrs. Smith, used to let us put on plays for the class
          every Friday. The only requirement was that we write the scripts
          for these plays ourselves. A few of my classmates and I got
          together and came up with an idea for our first play. I was the
          one chosen to write the script. Later, when we performed our
          little story in front of the class, everyone loved it. They laughed
          in the right places, cheered in the right places, even gasped and
          booed in the right places, so I was hooked on writing. I was a bit
          shy for the acting, but I loved seeing how the audience reacted to
          what I had written. I wrote more plays that year, although, for
          the life of me, I can’t remember what any of them were about,
          and the scripts were thrown away long ago, which is too bad. It
          would have been fun to reread them now.
         
          Anyway, I loved writing from those days on. I started writing
          lots of stories and poems. My poems were pretty bad. But I think
          my stories were okay. These days, I’m more likely to be writing
          nonfiction than fiction. Yet I still love to write fiction and I plan
          to be doing more of it in the coming year. I hope you’ll read and
          enjoy The Lucky Baseball. I had such fun researching the
          Japanese-American Internment and creating Harry, my main
          character in the book who has to move to a camp with his
          family. I got the idea for Harry when my editor for another book
          I wrote for this series asked if I’d like to write another book for
          the series. If you’re a teacher or homeschooling parent, please
          drop by my author site at www.suzannelieurance.com and
          download the free Educator’s Guide that goes with the book.

         
To order Suzanne’s book, click on the following link:  http://rcm-ca.amazon.ca.

 If you have any questions about any of my books, or about writing for children in general, just leave them for me here. I’ll be checking in all week and answering any questions that have been left for me.

         
          Happy reading and Happy Holidays!
         
          Suzanne Lieurance

          Please follow Suzanne’s second day of her Virtual Book Tour on Donna McDine’s blog at http://www.donna-mcdine.blogspot.com.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day 1 of Suzanne Lieurance’s Virtual Book Tour for the National Writing For Childrens Center

  1. Hi, Irene,

    Thanks so much for hosting Day 1 of my virtual tour for my book The Lucky Baseball. If anyone visiting here today has any questions for me, they can leave them here and I’ll come back and answer them. I also invite people to visit the National Writing for Children Center at http://www.writingforchildrencenter.com this week and talk about the book if they’ve read it.

    Have a great day!

    Thanks again, Irene!

    Suzanne Lieurance

  2. Pingback: | The National Writing for Children Center

  3. marleneahibbard says:

    I have reviewed two of the books for this months book tour and would like to submit a puzzle. Can it be one that was generated by the computer? If not I will make my own. Just wanted to be sure.
    Marlene

  4. Hey, Marlene,

    How wonderful that you’ve reviewed two of this month’s showcased books and created some puzzles. Yes, the puzzles can be computer generated.

    Would you like to write reviews for the books, too? If so, I’ll send you the format to use. Also, please email the puzzles and I’ll upload them to the National Writing for Children Center where visitors can download them for FREE. Super! Thanks so much, Marlene.

Leave a Reply

