Meet Alyce Joy

What age range is your book for?

A: 7-12 years. It can be read to ages 4-7 years.

Can you share a memory of yours or a story of you from when you were within the age range of your target readers?

A: I won my first and only writing award in grade school when the teacher said, “I want everyone to write your best (O) possible. I won. What was my award? Fifty cents.

How has life changed for children today than when you were that age?

A: Today, the children have so much modern technology at their finger tips. I could say, they don’t have to use their imaginations, but then again, they might have to use them even harder, in order to come up with new ideas. I guess that means the stimulation is still there.

How is life still the same?

A: They still love the movies, swimming, picnicking, ball games and getting sprinkled with the hose. The squirt guns are quite impressive today. Even the adults like them.

What was your favorite toy or activity when you were that age?

A: I played with paper dolls and made my own clothes for them. This was before Barbie dolls. Also, my sister and I had a huge supply of dance given to us by some dancing friends. WE gathered the neighbor kids a couple times a year and put on talent shows for our parents. Dad took pictures and mom made Kool-Aid.

What inspired this book and how did you decide on this age range for your book?

A: My imagination is always working. Taylor used to say things when she was little, which made us laugh a lot. She and her little sister, Sydney, were excellent readers at seven. They easily could have read this book. That is why I overlapped the age of seven.

Over the years, they’ve attended a lot of birthday parties. I love the idea of building a theme gift around a book. If you were to give a gift basket to a child based on your book, what else would be in the basket besides (your book’s title)? Feel free to include pictures of the gift basket if you want to get really industrious. If you do, I need them sent in jpg format as separate attachments, please. But, a picture is not required.

A: I would put in my basket, Sprout’s bookmark, a fairy, a big, blue swallowtail butterfly, a bottle of condensed, sassafras tea, sugar cubes, a cup and saucer and lastly, my book, KA-BOOM!

Thank you for visiting with me on my blog today Alyce!

Please follow Alyce Joy’s tour tomorrow at http://brandbuzznetwork.com/

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meet Alyce Joy

  1. VS Grenier says:

    Thank you for hosting Alyce Joy on your blog and letting your readers learn more about her and her book.

Leave a Reply

