Interview with Sands Hetherington

Welcome Sands to my blog today. It is such a pleasure to have you here.

1. Could you tell us a little about yourself?

I’m an old man and live by a small lake in North Carolina with my Saint Bernards Dudley and Maggie. I didn’t finish tenth grade but got into our state university by the back door. I have two advanced degrees, two children, have been a hod carrier, a laborer at a newspaper, a mutual fund counselor, and a sporadic storyteller. Now it’s just the stories.

2. Describe your desk/workspace.

Sometimes the kitchen table, but usually it’s the old chaise in my living room. There’s a little table on one side, and I always use an ancient green clipboard on my knees like I’m doing right now.

3. Do you have a favorite quote?

No. There are too many great ones.

4. What are you currently reading?

Huckleberry Finn.

5. What is the best advice you’ve ever received?

Don’t just do something. Stand there.

6. If you could have coffee with anyone (living or dead, real or fictional), who would it be and why?

Caesar (the Dictator). I’d give anything to see what some of these ancient colossi were really like.

7. What are your top three favorite books and why?

That’s really a hard one, because there are probably 35 in my top 10. Three that I really, really like are the one just mentioned that I’m reading for the fifth or sixth time, Joyce’s Ulysses, and The Catcher in the Rye. Obviously for different reasons which are too complicated to explain in fifty pages. I could easily add twenty more books to these three.

8. What was your favorite book as a child and why?

The OZ series. Critics said Frank Baum had no literary merit, and I understand what they meant, but kids weren’t interested in literary merit. They knew what they liked, and that guy had a captivating imagination if anybody ever did.

9. What would you say is your most interesting writing quirk?

Really goofy ideas.

10. Do you write full-time or part-time?

I don’t know any fiction writers who do it for more than two or three hours. I call that fulltime. It’s certainly as much as I do. I suppose you could consider this part-time if the writer goes off and plies some other trade for the rest of the day, but this is muddying the issue.

11. If you could do anything in the world, what would it be and why?

I would have a time machine, and a device to make me invisible like my character Crosley has, and I would go back and snoop on all of the great people and events. Just the past, mind you: I don’t want to know the future unless it’s just the stock market.

12. What is the craziest thing you ever did? This could be as a writer or any other time in your life.

During the oil embargo in the early seventies, I hoarded 120 gallons of gasoline in an aquarium in my garage. The gasoline started dissolving the aquarium sealant and leaking, and I had to move it to proper containers just before the neighborhood would have been incinerated!

13. Did you feel like a celebrity when you held your first published book?

No, that was just the start. For all I knew, it might be a bust.

14. If you could have a star like on Hollywood Blvd, who would you want to have your star by?

This can be an actually star on Hollywood Blvd. or someone you just admire.
L. Frank Baum.

15. Is there anything in your life you wish you could do over and why?

The number of things is legion. (There were approximately 6,000 soldiers in a Roman legion.) All of the usual stuff like bad marriages, bad investments, and I really wish I had done something to prevent two of my dogs from getting run over.

16. Who has been your biggest support or inspiration?

Probably my grandmother. She was a prominent educator and role model who raised and put up with me.

17. Could you share about any current writing projects?

I’m trying to get my second Night Buddies book off the ground. The series is about a kid named John who doesn’t want to go to bed sometimes, and a red crocodile named Crosley who rescues him and takes him out on adventures. I’m still on page one and can’t figure how to get John out of his house. He was in a very tight spot at the end of the last book.

18. What would be the best way for readers to contact you?

http://www.dunebuggypress.com/
info@dunebuggypress.com/

19. Where can people readers to contact you?

http://www.dunebuggypress.com/
info@dunebuggypress.com/

20. Is there anything else you’d like to share?

Thanks for having me. I’ve got to go try to get John out of the fix he’s in.

Thanks so much for being here on my blog Sands. You are a very interesting author and I thoroughly enjoyed reading and reviewing your book and speaking to you on Blogtalk Radio this month. All the best to you!

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Interview with Sands Hetherington

  1. Thanks for interviewing Sands. He is a very interesting writer.

  2. Gail Kearns says:

    Great interview! I’m the author’s book sherpa and I always learn something new about him with each interview he does.

Leave a Reply

