World of Ink Tour For April

MEET AUTHOR JUDY SNIDER AND GROUP
What inspired you to write?

 

A: Judy: I have written since I was in the third grade when I discovered the world of books and came up with a story called The Mystery Of The Green Hand……I was hooked on writing.

What inspired you to write?

 A. Judy: I love words, I love talking, and my parents read a lot, so books were always a part of my life.

My sister’s and I read magazines and comics growing up, and I always wondered who wrote the books

We read. My sister Joan and I had fun writing I Love You, Be Careful…….writing is fun for me, always has been. Lots of work, but lots of fun! My husband is an author of a medical thriller so we have fun in our marriage talking about writing a lot.

Do you consider yourself a born writer?

A. Judy: I am a very visual learner, so reading and writing were there from the beginning I feel, along with a house full of books.

Have you ever suffered from writer’s block? If yes, how did you cure it?

 A. Judy: Goodness Yes! I go away from my writing, or in the case of my sister’’s and my book, I would call her and she would use her creativity to jumpstart mine…….or we would just laugh, and that always helped.

I think chocolate is a great cure for my writer’s block and my grown sons and husband, too.

Have you any training to become a writer?

 A Judy: Yes, when my oldest son was a baby I took the Institute of Children’s Literature right away course during his naps. I would do an assignment and send it to my instructor for feedback. Working later in a children’s library in a school is also training in some way……you get to know what kind of books the kids like. My sister has grandkids so she got the “family” training too.

What type of books do you mostly write?

A. Judy: I love to write children’’s books the most that are funny and speak to the heart! I have written many children’s manuscripts through the years before Goldy’s Baby Socks, and I Love You, Be Careful. I am in two local writer’s groups: Cape Henry Collegiate Writer’s and Hampton Roads Writer’s and with the Cape Henry Group we did a book called The Sacred Purse with Debi Wacker as the coordinator…….fun again-Love to write with other women and attend groups!

Do your children inspire any of books, characters, or plots? A. Judy: Oh, Yes, they have throughout their lives. They are in their 20’s now, but I remember driving them in the car with their friends and asking their opinion, reading stories to them on a daily basis, and they are zany and fun. Joan also has kids and grandkids, so they have definitely had a positive effect on her inspiring her to write this book and the one she is working on, The Porch Fairy. My goal in getting a book published was to read it to my kids and groups of kids and have them smile and laugh……it worked. My other sister Mary and I also are working on an idea for a movie with a talented writer in Chicago.

Can you share with us a little about your current book?

A. Judy: Joan’s, Cady’s and my book is a heartwarming and uplifting children’s picture gift book that shows the various stages of a child’s life from birth till they have their own child and all the “Be Careful” moments that we as parents go through with them. It really is for mother’s of daughters, father’s of daughters, new brides and new moms……yet kids love the repetition of I Love You, Be Careful with each illustration. Cady did a wonderful job of illustrating the book…….people get happy teary and sentimental after reading the picture book.

What is the most difficult part of writing?

A. Judy: Editing, editing, making sure the words are kids friendly…….Joan, Cady and I made a good team on this book, and we all are parents, so we had been through many moments of a loved one leaving the house and we say, “Be Careful, I Love You”. We still say I Love You, Be Careful to our husbands, kids, friends, etc. on a daily basis it seems.

Website:

http://www.iloveyoubecareful.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to World of Ink Tour For April

  1. VS Grenier says:

    Thanks for posting such a great interview about Judy Snider and her work. She’s one very talented author and her book; along with Joan Dickow and Cady Driver “I Love You, Be Careful” is just amazing.

Leave a Reply

