Day 1: Meet Author M.E. Finke of The National Writing For Children Center Tours

Meet the Aussie From Down Under, Children’s Author M.E. Finke

 Welcome to day one of M.E. Finke’s 6-day NWFCC March
 Author Showcase tour.

       I have always “scribbled” stories, and told others to my kids each
       night, right off the top of my head. When two of our children had
       minor reading problems it got me thinking. Then, as a Teacher”s
       Aide, I noticed boys were more likely to have dyslexia or be
       reluctant readers. So I set out to write the kind of books that
       would encourage kids to read: stories that were super kid friendly.
       That meant lots of action, getting to the “good stuff” ASAP, and
       writing about things that would be of interest to boys and
       reluctant readers. I suspected that adventure in wild and exotic
       places would be a good bet.

       I spent the first half of my life Down-Under, so a fantastic
       adventure in the heart of the outback, just a boomerang throw
       from Ayers Rock (Uluru) was a natural. The research was
       interesting and fun. I dug up lots of facts, and critters that I felt US
       kids would find intriguing and really fun to know about.

       And then there’s that Aussie strine (slang), plus the wonderfully
       musical aboriginal words. So I added a word glossary for readers
       to enjoy and share with friends. I was about to cook up a great
       story kids would eat up, and these were the ingredients I began to
       “cook” with:  After a quick initial stir, I set out to gather up the
       meat and potatoes of the story. A young aboriginal boy with some
       hefty problems came first. Into the pot with him. I remembered a
       story Mom told me about a chatty cockatoo that could mimic
       anything, as well as keep up his end of a simple conversation. In
       he went- named Claude. A problem Dad, a magic feather, and a
       scary Man Ceremony came next. Another stir. Hmmm. It already
       smelled appetizing. Next, some fun with fierce green ants, and a
       party-pooper emu, followed by some campfire tales from Dad.
       I let it simmer a while, then I lifted the lid for another sniff and
       taste. But something was missing. Ahaaa. . . Too many potatoes
       and not enough Medicine Man. Might as well toss in a vast tribal
       gathering for luck. Finally, I seasoned the bubbling mixture with a
       good dollop of Dreamtime Spirits, and left it to stew in its own
       juices.

       The first review is IN and the verdict is YUM!!!
       http://familiesmatter2us.blogspot.com.
      
       Follow Day 2 of Ms. Finke’s tour tomorrow at www.donna-
       mcdine.blogspot.com. Leave a comment and your name will
       automatically be entered to win a Three Angels Gourmet Co mug
       and a package of Divine Dill Dip Mix – at the end of the month,
       provided by the National Writing for Children Center.

       Thank you.

About adolescentgirlsblog

I am a freelance writer for adolescent girls. I love delving into the topics of self-esteem and self-confidence for girls. I find this writing really meaningful. This blog is devoted to girls and their issues.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 1: Meet Author M.E. Finke of The National Writing For Children Center Tours

  1. Donna McDine says:

    Margot:

    It’s wonderful to learn more about you.

    Irene:

    Thank you for hosting Margot today.

    Best wishes to you both for your continued success,
    Donna

  2. Margot Finke says:

    Thanks Donna. I am just thrilled to be on this 6 day trip. I feel really blessed to have so many friends, readers and writers support me.

    Margot’s Magic Carpet – all my books on one page.
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

  3. Margot Finke says:

    I want to thank you for your time and trouble on my behalf Irene. It is a pity that not more left comments. You did a great job, mate.

    Margot’s Magic Carpet – all 11 books on one page.
    http://perfectmagiccarpet.blogspot.com/

  4. Hi Margot,

    It was so much fun getting to know you and your work better. You are so inspiring!

    ~Irene

Leave a Reply

